Games to look forward to in 2012.

Recently, gamers have been treated to some first class entertainment. Uncharted 3, Battlefield 3, Fifa 12, Call of Duty MW3. Hell, even the HD trilogy remakes of Metal Gear Solid, Splinter Cell and Tomb Raider. It’s been a rather lovely few months for us. I’m writing today to let you know there’s still plenty to look forward to. Both games we are used to and new ideas that are very exciting.

I’m going to start with a game that was a huge success and long time ago. It’s been far too long but for the first time in over 5 years, gamers can get their hands on a new SSX game. The old school, arcade style of these games has been swiped off the table. What enters in its place- a new, gritty way to snowboard. Weather conditions come into effect and it’s more a challenge of getting down the mountain alive rather than hitting that one ramp perfectly so you can get the only x10 multiplayer in the level. I used to play SSX for hours on end with my brother and it never disappointed us. The number of times we played the level ‘Pipedream’….
It was a fantastic game on the Playstation 2 and it’s safe to say that all the fans expect great things from the company with the new entry ‘SSX Deadly Descents’. You can bet it won’t all be about getting over 50,000 points for one trick- but you can bet its going to be exhilarating.

Mass Effect 3 is another game to get excited for. Before I go on- for those of you that didn’t play 1 or 2, do not stop reading. I ‘impulse bought’ ME2 and it turned out to be one of the best games I’ve ever played. Yes the story carries on in ME2 but it did from the 1st one as well. I did not feel like I missed out on anything. The storyline, the cast, the ability to make your own choices during cutscenes- its a phenomenal gaming experience that completely engrosses you. I blogged about it over a year ago if you want a full review of the game.
What ME3 brings is this same personal detail. Your character of Captain Shephard remains the same. The characters that got killed during your previous playthroughs…stay dead, and it’s set in London…in LONDON. I never give sci-fi games a chance. I did with ME2 and it was one of the best games i ever bought. I plead for you to do the same with Mass Effect 3 as I can promise you won’t be let down.

Far Cry 3 is set to be released sometime this year. Far Cry 2 was another wonderful experience. Sometimes repetitive it must be said, but, the huge open jungle environments, the amount of interaction that takes place with all living objects and the way you can approach any mission in your own way give the gamer so much choice. Hopefully they will have made the game less repetitive and given the guns a ‘fun’ boost. I don’t think I’ve ever played a game that has had so much potential before. Yes, Far Cry 2 did fall short, but if the developers have learnt from the mistakes they made, we could be in for a shock. This could be a contender for Game of the Year. Think Grand Theft Auto mixed with Fallout…..just set in the jungle.

I am very excited to write next about the mother of all First Person Shooters- Counter Strike. Counter Strike is the only FPS to even consider playing competitively and it will be arriving on the Playstation this year under the name ‘Counter Strike: Global Offensive’. I never had a chance to play CS on the PC but I always was aware that I was missing out. Not much needs to be said as you can ask any true gamer what the best FPS of all time is. They will tell you Counter Strike for PC. So I can only dream about what it’s going to be like to play on a Playstation.

 

To return to the more mainstream games, Ubisoft announced this week that Assassins Creed 3 is set to be released this October. Now i know what you’re thinking:
-Assassins Creed 2 was great.
-Assassins Creed Brotherhood was crap.
-Assassins Creed Revelations is crap.
BUT, this is 3. Three! not 2.5 anymore! Ubisoft are finally moving forward and hopefully away from the Italian setting because God knows they’ve exhausted that. Assassins Creed the first was a wonderful game and the first game i ever played on my PS3. I had never experienced anything like it. Yes it did get very repetitive but the company realised this. By the time AC2 was released there was a whole new setting, cast and a mix of missions. Since then the gameplay has remained very similar and is now quite stale. Yet, the fact Ubisoft are finally comfortable with releasing an AC3, (i.e- not 2.5) I have faith that there is a lot to expect from this successful series. I mean really, can you remember what it was like to synchronize for the first time during AC1 at the top of the first tower you climbed? As the music volume increased and the camera panned round to show a breathtaking view of the whole world that you could explore……it was the first ‘next-gen’ moment I had with my PS3 and it set up the basis of a wonderful relationship. The idea for the game is genius. Getting to be an actual Assassin?! It’s fun as hell. I can only hope that by the time AC5 comes out, we are getting to play as Desmond in a ninja suit….

Now you all should know how much I love Metal Gear Solid. I’m sure most of you have heard the news that there is a new Metal Gear due to be released this year. “What?! I though Metal Gear Solid 4 was the last in the series?!”
Yes, unfortunately it was. And what an end it was. Jeez, even writing this is making me want to go and watch that last 45 minutes long cutscene.
Anyway, whilst I am terrifically excited to play this new Metal Gear: Rising….it is upsetting that “Solid” is lost from the title. Otherwise known as the Solid Snake, the love-able protagonist from the series. Instead, Rising will focus on Raiden’s storyline and how he came to be the katana wielding cyborg ninja. I worry the core stealth gameplay will be lost as a lot of the news circulates around how precise you can be with Raiden’s blade. But we must remember this is still Metal Gear.
Yes, Hideo Kojima is not taking an active role in the game’s development, but he is still overseeing the project. Above all else- this is a new Metal Gear game and there hasn’t even been one that hasn’t been epic. So whatever type of game it is, it will definitely be awesome. (Even if Raiden is a total gay).

The last two games I want to bring to your attention are survival games. I have never had experience with these type of games but Ubisoft and Naughty Dog (developers of the infamous Uncharted series) are both releasing their own survival games: I Am Alive and The Last of Us respectively.
Ubisoft’s I Am Alive first came to my attention almost half a year ago. The idea of having an entirely modern world left to explore is immensely exciting to me. The only reason i didn’t enjoy this idea with games like Fallout are simple. I just don’t like Alien games. I like a game to be as realistic as possible.
All this said, if people are interested in playing a modern survival game, then Naughty Dog’s The Last of Us will be the main choice. Having watched the teaser trailer I can describe it as one thing. A video game of I Am Legend. There are some bizarre creatures that seem to roam the city that looks almost like a jungle. What is more exciting is how the game concentrates not only on your survival, but also in figuring out what went wrong decades or years ago. Every item can be useful for the two main characters, from bullets to lightbulbs.
Nathan Drake and Naughty Dog have established themselves as the Romeo’s of the Playstation universe so you can bet whatever game they bring out next is going to be top draw material.

That’s pretty much all for now. Let me know if I missed anything important out, these were merely the games that came to my own attention.

I hope you all had a nice Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

