PS Vita, worth it just for Metal Gear Solid.

It’s no surprise that the Vita hasn’t been as successful as most thought it would be. I plan on writing a more in depth blog about the flaws of the system/consumer market and why the Vita has not lived up to it’s expectations. This post however, is about why you should buy it. The reason being? Why the Metal Gear Solid HD game of course.
Chances are, if you owned a Playstation 2, you have already played Metal Gear Solid
2 and 3. Just like myself, I have completed both numerous times. You may have even been crazy enough to collect enough dog tags to unlock the stealth camo item, because we all know how fun that is. I completed MGS3 a few nights ago and am already well into the Plant chapter of Metal Gear Solid 2. What am I saying? This game does not get old. I am enjoying myself just as much as i was the first time. That is due to the Vita itself, as much as it is due to the game.

The beauty of the Vita is that you literally can click one button and then be immersed in your game. Things I dislike about console gaming,

  • Load screens
  • Trekking upstairs to get to the Playstation 2
  • Playing alone and not being around my family
  • How I was unable to play when I was in bed

The Vita obliterates all of these issues. Being able to play through this incredible story from anywhere at any time with a system that graphically enhances it, is just incredible. The controls, dare I say, on the Vita are somewhat easier to handle than on a Playstation controller. The touch screen is used brilliantly for your weapon and item packs as well as for peeking round corners. The back touch screen is used for stabbing and moving along hand rails.

Correct me if I am wrong, but i don’t think the original MGS3 had a moveable camera. Like MGS2, the camera was always placed in a certain spot and you could not move it. The MGS3 on the Vita has a more modern camera control- you simply control it as a normal 3rd person game with the right analogue stick. This was the huge positive for me, the number of times I used to be spotted because I was unable to see more than 5 yards in front was criminal. On the Vita, Snake is controlled much more easily. I finished the game in a couple of days because of this reason along being able to play anywhere and everywhere.

The bonus of playing MGS2 on the Vita? The graphics. You really can notice the HD upscaling. Much more so than MGS3. The game is beautiful and feels like a next-gen game. The fact that it was made almost 10 years ago is insane. You would never guess.

At the end of the day, you either have or have not played Metal Gear Solid 2 and 3.
If you have played them before, you will still love playing them again on the Vita and like me, you may enjoy them even more.
If you have not played them before, well, you call yourself a gamer? I don’t need to tell you how awesome the games are, you can let their credentials tell you that from my previous post. Metal Gear Solid is known for it’s incredible storyline, brilliant characters, lovely soundtrack and the superlative gaming memories it will give you. If this doesn’t sound like the kind of experience you want, then go buy a Wii.

I leave you with a video of how far my love for the Metal Gear Series went : : Gun’s of Liberty (MGS meets Call of Duty) 

4 responses to this post.

  1. its always great to find a big MGS fan, and my vita is used as a MGS player, once PS1 games come out for the system, then it is on!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Camille on June 28, 2012 at 6:00 pm

    Another benefit of the vita- your girlfriend can watch real housewives while you play 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

